//
you're reading...
Alberta, Jasper

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria

T2014-09-01 21.56.38he night my family and I arrived to the town of Jasper during our road trip was pretty late in the evening. Thank god a few restaurants were still open for business so we didn’t had to starve ourselves or pay a lot of money to eat at the Fairmont Lodge’s restaurants.

Famoso is a Neapolitan Pizzeria. Their pizzas are baked out of their bell oven which is shaped like a bell and is imported from Italy. This oven goes up to 900*F so their pizzas really just needed 90 seconds in there before serving. Their pizza crusts are made from imported caputo ’00’ flour from Naples which gives it a softer yet crispy crust. Their fior-di-latte (fresh mozzarella) is also imported from Naples. Other ingredients including their campania tomatoes and basil are imported from Italy. Fresh and traditional Neapolitan pizza baking.

2014-09-01 21.23.09FIRE-ROASTED TOMATO BISQUE

We started with this roasted campania tomato soup topped with feta cheese, fresh basil, and some flat bread on the side. This tomato soup was the last last last bowl the restaurant could get for us. The table next to us wanted one too but it’s sold out. I usually don’t like tomato bisque or soups cause I don’t like the sour taste that comes from the tomatoes. This bisque however was not sour at all. Very fresh and light.

2014-09-01 21.22.43-1

FAMOSO SALAD

The Famoso salad is romaine lettuce with prosciutto crisps, carrots, cherry tomatoes, soppressata (spicy salami), fire-roasted chicken, feta, and dijon-balsamic vinaigrette. It’s not a big salad for a price at $15. I would say it is pretty expensive. Lots of soppressata tho… I would even say there’s too many when compared to the amount of romaine lettuce I got in that bowl. I always prefer more greens in my salad. After all, it is a salad. The toppings should always be a nice component that enhances the salad. A good salad should always have fresh greens and a good vinaigrette. The vinaigrette was spot on tho. Especially when there’s feta… Every thing wins when there’s feta. I just hope this would be a much more simple, clean salad. Or at least a salad with less of the proteins. Price point is definitely too high.

2014-09-01 21.26.06

SWEET BBQ CHICKEN

The Sweet BBQ chicken is spread with honey smoked BBQ sauce on the crust and topped with fior-di-latte (fresh mozzarella), fire-roasted chicken, smoked mozzarella, diced tomatoes, red onions, and cilantro. Very nice toppings. Absolutely fell for the mozzarellas. Chicken is nice and moist. BBQ sauce was not heavy at all. I would personally preferred more on the sauce. There’s a good possibility that they wanted to showcase their fresh ingredients and hence wanted to keep the sauce light. Compared to the salad, this is the complete opposite. There was not enough chicken on the pizza! I could barely taste chicken bites as I stuff it in my mouth. Lots and lots of diced tomatoes. Almost too much… It kinda takes away the BBQ flavours and the chicken.

2014-09-01 21.21.11

MARINARA

Marinara is their classic cheese-less pizza. My grandma is terrified with the taste of cheese so we made an order of Marinara. This pizza is simply spreaded with Campania tomato sauce on the crust and topped with garlic, oregano, virgin olive oil, and fresh basil. I honestly thought I would not love this pizza but I’m so in love with it! It has to be the garlic. It is super garlicy! Makes my taste palette awakes! The good thing about the garlic is how it helps taking the blend mono tomato flavour away to a more exciting level. A very simple but exciting pizza that gives you a very garlicy after taste.

OVERALL3star

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria (Jasper National Park) on UrbanspoonI like the idea of having a naan bread style crust for the pizza which makes it unique but pizza is a comfort food for me so to me, I still prefer the very thick crust that is crispy outside and soft inside. They have very nice fresh ingredients but none of the flavours are very bold. After the meal I didn’t get that satisfied feeling I normally get from pizzas. I know they have locations in Vancouver. I really won’t go for seconds. It’s not that their pizzas are not good. It’s just that it isn’t the pizza I prefer. Plus, the meal was a bit on the expensive end as well.

– nat

About nat.

foodie, traveler, pug mama, and part-time fashion beauty guru.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria

  1. I love your blog, your posts are amazing and everything looks so good! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Arielle | February 25, 2015, 4:39 am
    • Thanks Arielle! Your blog looks amazing too! If you’re interested, please also visit my personal blog natlamlam.wordpress.com
      You have an amazing blog! I would love to visit Montreal soon.

      Like

      Posted by natlamlam | February 26, 2015, 10:17 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow #natblogs on WordPress.com
View my food journey on Zomato!

Enter your email address to follow nat and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

