//
you're reading...
fashion

hong kong instagram haul

– this is a post imported from nat’s old blog Pug Life Confession

Online shopping became very popular in our generation as it saves time and effort. Have you ever hear about Instagram shops? If you haven’t hear about it, you’re missing out. Last December, I visited home (Hong Kong). As I upload pictures on Instagram during my trip, I gained a lot of followers. These followers are not ordinary Instagram users, they are Instagram shop owners.

8-9 years ago when I was still in middle school, I shop a lot online. One big reason is because online shop owners buy products from manufacture in bulks for cheap prices. As consumers, we also get the benefit buying cheaper products at low price. The only problem is the quality of the products. They are really in style but they are copies of big brands. Meaning, materials these factories use for production is usually low in quality. To give you an idea, if you buy a pair of shoes, it will worn out within 1 or less than 2 months (base on the assumption you are wearing it everyday). For clothing apparels, materials are not suitable for dryers as they will shrink and they are most likely to lose colours when washing.

As time goes by, Hong Kong shoppers are more aware of the quality of online shopping. With a big heat of Korean wave landing in Hong Kong (due to Kpop stars and Korean dramas), online shoppers realize Korea’s rich and quality online shopping culture. It is the same online shopping idea but it guarantees  quality. To best explain the difference here, I will use Groupons as an example. Instead of buying low quality products that are mimics of big brands and styles, owners keep the use higher quality materials and sell it in bulks to multiple individual shoppers. The owners will offer a discount/low price for the product IF more individual shoppers participate in the group buy.

Screen Shot 2014-03-24 at 1.38.19 AM

A lot of Hong Kong online shoppers realize the potential in this shopping culture and decided to order quality products from Korean online shops. They know the demand and they know people don’t want to go through such complicated process to buy quality Korean products online. Therefore, they open up Instagram shops and order for the customers. Customers’ benefit is the cheap shipping fee. As Instagram shop owners will collect all orders and order the products all at once, a lot of online shops will be able to waive the shipping fee. Even if they require to pay the maximum shipping fee, these buyers will be sharing the shipping cost. The more individual orders, the cheaper the shipping fee. Since Instagram is a popular daily application, it is very easy to attract potential consumers with the right/relevant hashtags. As consumer, all you need to do is to text the order information to the owner, transfer payment, and meet the owner at a train station to pick up your order.

Screen Shot 2014-03-24 at 1.39.22 AM

I use Instagram on a daily base. And it was really hard to hold back such temptations when these owners constantly upload product pictures everyday. So I gave it a try! I was really please that I did. It was not disappointing at all. Let’s take a look what I got!

I really need boots. And I need quality boots so I can survive the snow and rain here in Vancouver. So the first thing that caught my eyes was a pair of black ankle boots with wedge heels. (Approx. $40CAD)

2014-03-21 16.24.53

2014-03-21 16.38.54

I must say the quality is better than expected. It was made out of very soft leather material (obviously not real leather). The bottom was made out of very strong and hard materials so it guarantee a longer life spam.

2014-03-21 16.39.32

The best part was the friction prove bottom. A lot of shoes have flat surfaces on their bottom. It’s really bad for Vancouver weather as it is very slippery during rainy or snowy days. With this bottom, good friction will keep me safe.

2014-03-21 16.40.01

Want to show you the picture below so you get a sense that the material is really soft and comfortable as you can see the lines. (Sorry! Not quite sure how to describe this)

2014-03-21 16.40.42

The next item I got is also a pair of shoes. I really wanted this certain style of shoes for a long time.

2014-03-21 16.28.59

This pair of shoes is very very very light. I’m not sure how the material is in terms of it’s weight. It’s so light that it is like the weight of 2 pairs of fluffy winter slippers. But I really like it cause it has a cushion inside the shoe. It is SUPER comfortable!!

2014-03-21 16.38.32

Also made from soft leather (not real leather).

2014-03-21 16.35.49

The bottom of the shoe is not as strong as the black boots but it is acceptable.

2014-03-21 16.36.10-2

Oh and look! I’m really loving this pair of shoes. I paired it with a pair of cute Korean socks my best friend got me in Korea. Pretty funky!

2014-03-21 16.33.26-1

I didn’t shop a lot I swear. The last two items I got online was a sweater and a maxi button up shirt.

2014-03-21 16.46.05

The sweater was not disappointing at all. The wool is so soft! You can tell it is a better quality. I can dare and say that it is somewhat better than most Forever21/H&M sweaters in terms of quality. The details are really cute too. I really like the patterns on the sleeves.

2014-03-21 16.46.19

It also has a open end detail at the bottom of the sweater.

2014-03-21 16.46.36

The maxi button up shirt would probably be my new favourite apparel this whole month. It is a thick material, so it won’t see through, and it is actually warm to wear in the Spring/Fall seasons. It doesn’t go all the way to my ankle. I am 160cm tall and it goes one hand size down from my knee. It’s actually good cause it won’t make you look short as it leaves room for flesh colour as contrast.

2014-03-21 16.49.15

2014-03-21 16.49.26

This maxi also has an open end detail at the bottom.

2014-03-21 16.50.02

I’m really happy about this new shopping experience. I wish I had ore time in Hong Kong so I can buy more. But at the same time, I’m so glad I’m not in Hong Kong. Otherwise I’ll be broke by everyday online shopping.

What do you guys think about this new generation of online shopping?

About nat.

foodie, traveler, pug mama, and part-time fashion beauty guru.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “hong kong instagram haul

  1. I love the brown shoes! How do you know if the shoes will fit exactly though? That’s why I’m so hesitant to buy shoes online :/

    Like

    Posted by carmenkmchen | March 24, 2014, 7:38 pm
    • These Instagram shop owners are really friendly. They will provide you a size chart based on centimetres so it is more accurate than just saying size 7 or 8. These users usually purchase items for themselves as well. So she told me that it is the actual fit or if it is a half size bigger than normal size. Anytime with doubt, but a half size bigger and put inserts in it or wear thicker socks.

      Like

      Posted by natlamlam | March 24, 2014, 7:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow #natblogs on WordPress.com
View my food journey on Zomato!

Enter your email address to follow nat and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

