//
you're reading...
Hong Kong

Made in HK

Happy holidays! I spent Christmas day with my family at the mall and my mom suggested a restaurant call Made in HK. It’s a very simple restaurant. Won’t say there’s something special that made it stand out but it is definitely a decent and price worthy place to go have a munch or hangout with friends.

The following interior pictures were taken from Made in HK official website because I couldn’t get a good shot of the venue.

Interior_MIHK_shopfront_01

Interior_MIHK_dining_03

Interior_MIHK_dining_04

Their interior is pretty cute. It looks modern but still have some Hong Kong elements like the racks close to the ceiling will carry some common Hong Kong items (Lipton tea, luncheon meat cans, condense milk cans, etc.) But don’t get me wrong, this is not a restaurant that serves local cuisine. The other thing I found cute was the clipboard menu. Nothing close to a regular menu but also nothing close to those cheap looking menu thats only a piece of paper. 

2013-12-25 13.50.57

I ordered set lunch [C] pan-roasted Christmas turkey roll with chestnuts, mash potatoes and veggies for $108 HKD (around $15 CAD after 10% service charge). The set lunch came with a choice of daily salad or daily soup, and it comes with a free choice of hot coffee or tea. I went with the daily salad – tuna green salad. It was a nice salad, more non-ordinary choice of greens cause they added green beans and potato in it. The tuna was not well-done. Loved it. I’m not a big fan of tuna but it went really well with the dressing of this salad. They used a sweet-and-sour Japanese dressing – yuzu. I mentioned this in my last review on Tonkichi Tonkatsu Seafood Restaurant. It’s a citrus fruit from East Asia that is close to sour mandarins. I was wondering what the yellow strips were at the bottom of the plate and it turns out to be potatoes. I’m not a salad person so I’m surprised that green beans were used too. It was a fresh combination for me.

2013-12-25 14.01.57

2013-12-25 14.05.15

I was awfully confused when the menu said it was a turkey roll… I expected that something like spinach cream or turkey stuffing would be rolled into the turkey… Turns out it was just turkey meat rolled into a roll and had it cut into pieces of meat. I was worried that the turkey would be rough and dry but it was Christmas day, I wanted to had turkey. Made in HK impressed me. I received two pieces on my plate and it was juicy and tender. Especially when they rolled the meat up, the piece inside was extra tender and juicy. What I love most about the dish was the gravy. They combined the cranberry sauce with the gravy and it made the savory sauce contain a sweet taste. Its like a two-in-one that went perfectly well with the turkey. Mostly because I was never a fan of gravy and this one really impressed me. I even wish for more sauce!

2013-12-25 14.10.04

From my personal preferences, the chestnut was too hard for me. When I bite on my chestnuts, there’s a crunchy sound. I prefer it smooshy. The greens were fine. But I must say the mash potatoes were nicely done. It was really smooth and creamy. Depends how you usually make them. For those who been to Cheesecake Factory in the States, their mash potatoes have actually potato bites in it. And I’m also a fan of their mash cause it gives a good texture. But Made in HK’s smooth creamy mash is really nice as well. It’s just different ways and different textures.

2013-12-25 14.09.43

My dad ordered set lunch [E] baked spaghetti in Espagnole sauce with OX tongue for $88 HKD (around $12 CAD after 10% service charge). Same as my set lunch it comes with choice of daily salad or daily soup and drinks. Dad ordered the daily soup – pumpkin soup with crab meat. It is a decent soup but a bit too sweet. Crab meat was barely found.

2013-12-25 13.59.32

The lump on my spoon is one of the few crab meat found in the soup.

2013-12-25 14.00.16

The soup came with bread. Loved it! I’m a sucker for rolls. It was really soft. I won’t deny if people say I’m overreacting but it was a nice roll. 😛

2013-12-25 13.59.43

The baked spaghetti came in its own little pan. A good portion for girls but probably not enough for men with large appetites. This probably make me sound picky on food but again, I’m not a fan of tomato sauce cause I’m afraid the sour taste from the tomatoes. But the sauce was just right. And it went well with the OX tongue. I love how the OX tongue came in cube pieces. They usually come in slices. The cubes embrace the texture of the meat and because OX tongue has a slightly harder/solid texture than normal meat, it balances out nicely with the soft spaghetti.

2013-12-25 14.08.04

The cheese in the dish gives a perfect finishing touch. Most of them are burn and melt on top of the spaghetti. The amount was just right that it won’t get too strong and cover up the Espagnole sauce.

2013-12-25 14.11.20

Mom ordered the quick and light set [B] choice of organic eggs (fried/scrambled/boiled) with toast or croissant and Russian borscht with macaroni for $58 HKD (approx. $8 CAD after 10% service charge). Mom ordered scrambled eggs with toast. The toast is served in thick cut. I can’t comment too much on the dish as I didn’t really taste them.

2013-12-25 14.01.13

One thing I must comment was the bad plating. The eggs were swimming everywhere and it was served on a dirty plate. I can’t say it is the restaurant’s fault as it might be the waitresses who served us came to work with a bad mood and didn’t pay attention while carrying the plates around. If you look at the picture below, you will find see how the plate was served to us. I guarantee we did not move anything, it was served like that.

2013-12-25 14.01.29

The Russian borscht was really huge in portion.

2013-12-25 14.01.38

2013-12-25 14.09.50

Overall, this is a restaurant I’ll recommend if you’re at the mall (APM in Kwun Tong) or you need a chill place to hangout with friends in big groups. But if you’re expecting special cuisine, Made in HK will not impress you enough.

About nat.

foodie, traveler, pug mama, and part-time fashion beauty guru.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Follow #natblogs on WordPress.com
View my food journey on Zomato!

Enter your email address to follow nat and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

