//
you're reading...
Hong Kong

Tonkichi Tonkatsu (とん吉)

Tonkichi Tonkatsu Seafood Restaurant (とん吉)

Tonkatsu means pork cutlet in Japanese. Tonkichi is a Japanese cutlet and seafood restaurant originally from Japan. I love the restaurant so much that I’ll hate myself if I didn’t write a review for them. This is a must go everytime I come home. They have different locations and I’ve been to the one at Tsim Sha Tsui and the one at Causeway Bay World Trade Centre.

I apologize I didn’t get great pictures so I’m going to combine my review for this current visit with the last visit from last year. My current visit was during lunch hours. So glad that there was no line at all. And I said that because everytime I visit, a minimum of an hour wait is a must. There was 3 of us so we went with the combo for 3 to make our life easier. In fact better because they had a bit of each in the combo.

Once you order, waiters/waitresses would give you a bowl of sesame and a wooden stick. This is the fun part 😛 Essentially this is for your sauce. You get to grind the sesame into semi-powder form and add the sweet cutlet sauce in it. This action allows you to release the roasted flavour in the sesame and give a more enhanced taste to the sweet sauce. Its up to your personal preference whether the sesame should be grinned into powder or not. I usually keep most of my original sesame because texture is important to me.

IMG_20121225_195023

The combo for 3 comes with soft-shell crab, pork cutlet, pork loin, oyster, and prawns. The soft-shell crab came first. It was decent but I won’t give it a 10/10. The crust was very light and you could taste the crab paste (cream) in it. And that just got me right there cause I’m a sucker for crab paste (cream). However it was a bit overdone which made the texture of the crab a bit dry.

2013-12-18 13.39.23

The rest of the food came together in one dish. Each person get one piece of prawn and oyster, and there was at least 2-3 pieces of cutlet and loin for each person. I’m very fair when criticizing the restaurant. I seen people who wrote reviews compared them with the tonkatsu in Japan. And my thought is, sure…Of course it won’t be any better than the ones in Japan… Tonkichi is a decent restaurant. unless it is possible to fly to Japan everytime you want tonkatsu, I would say: humans, please don’t be so harsh. Yes, the crust is obviously not perfectly done like the ones in Japan. However, its not a bad crust at all. The crust is light, fluffy and crispy. All the food was perfectly cooked. The prawns and oyster was not overdone. And the pork cutlet and loin was not dry at all. LOVE the fat that comes with the pork. It wasn’t too much that makes your stomach uncomfortable. It was just right that it goes well with every bite on your pork.

2013-12-18 13.46.19

What I appreciate the most was the unlimited rice and salad. They use Japanese rice and shredded cabbage for salad. There’s two different dressing for the salad – seaweed and yuzu. Yuzu is a citrus fruit from East Asia close to sour mandarins. The combo for 3 ends up with a bill around $750 HKD (approx. $94 CAD).  It is a comparatively expensive meal in Hong Kong. But I still recommend them because they are just that good you would want to come back for more.

My last visit was a year ago for dinner. Remembered clearly that I had to wait for at least 1.5 hours. Didn’t order combos because we wanted to try the pork cutlet don. Don means rice bowl in Japanese. Usually the ingredients are placed on top of the rice when served. Tonkichi didn’t do that assuming its because of the sauce. The dish was a great combination overall. Eggs were not well done which gives a good mix of the egg with the sauce. Sauce was not too salty. My only comment would be – get the original cutlets instead of the don. Just cause the cutlet have such great textures, it was a pity that it gets a bit soggy in the sauce. Its a waste if you know what I mean..

IMG_20121225_201710

IMG_20121225_201724

Of course, we also order the classic pork cutlet. How can I not? 🙂

IMG_20121225_201850

They one thing I would say no is probably the dessert. Not because it doesn’t taste good… But its just not worth eating something like this here at this price. Ordered a green tea ice-cream and it came with red bean paste and a strawberry. Like I said, its not bad its just not worth it. There’s plenty of green tea/ Japanese dessert place rising in town and something like this is just not standing out enough for a second order.

IMG_20121225_210538

About nat.

foodie, traveler, pug mama, and part-time fashion beauty guru.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Tonkichi Tonkatsu (とん吉)

  1. Love your food blogs!!

    Like

    Posted by Katie | December 23, 2013, 11:25 pm
  2. Oh my gosh, I miss this so much. Such a relaxing place and delicious crispy cutlets…

    Like

    Posted by J | December 27, 2013, 11:43 am

Leave a Reply

Follow #natblogs on WordPress.com
View my food journey on Zomato!

Enter your email address to follow nat and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

