//
you're reading...
Portland

Voodoo Doughnut

Voodoo Doughnut! “The magic is in the hole!”

Voodoo is written as a top must go attraction almost on every Portland travel book and tourist website. It seems like a joke how Americans parallels with doughnuts and now even becomes an attraction. But no kidding, Voodoo IS a must go.

Voodoo is a business started out by two friends. They wanted to start something fun for all ages and came up with an idea of making doughnuts! But haha they don’t know anything about making a doughnut. Ends up that they had to travel all the way to Los Angeles and learn how to make them. Now, Voodoo is in their 9th year of business. Almost 10!

When we got there, it was ridiculous.. Not the doughnuts… But the line of people! It was almost 12am when we get there and still, people are making a 15-20 minutes line!

The line is even crazier in the morning… If you’re already looking at the picture below… Yes.. ALL the people in the picture you’re looking at are lining up for Voodoo.. haha! So maybe midnight is a better time to go? LOL

It is no doubt that Voodoo is a fun place. But like all other bakery, it is not a sit in place. They only allow customers to go in when they are ready to serve you.

Well… Time to talk about the doughnuts! 😛

Cake doughnuts ranges from $0.95-$1.75 / Vegan doughnuts ranges from $1.25-$3.25 / Cruellers ranges from $1.25-$1.40 / Raised doughnuts ranges from $0.95-$5.25 / Fritters ranges from $2.25-$4.25

All classic dozen $7.50 / Voodoo dozen $11.25 (the staff pick the dozen for you) / Vegan Voodoo $13.50 / Your choice dozen price varies according to the cost of each doughnut you pick

They also have drinks like coffee, tea, apple cider, hot chocolate, milk, juice, and water on their menu.

I ordered a pick my own half-dozen, and here are the fun flavours I got (they are suggested by the staff there..)

The Voodoo Doll $1.95
This is one of their classic ones just because it is the Voodoo doll. It is a filled doughnut with raspberry jam inside. However, my Voodoo doll did not have any raspberry jam in it.. Can’t question why cause by the time I kill this doll and expect “blood” from it, I’m out of Portland already.. hmmmm…

Mango Tango $1.95
This is also a filled doughnut. Not weirdly fun, quite normal actually. The staff said it is her favourite so I went for it. I found it awfully sweet.

Grape Ape $1.60
This is actually one of my favourite out of the my half-dozen. You know how artificial fruit flavours usually taste like kid’s medicine? Well this doesn’t. Obviously it won’t taste like real fruit, but at least it is not medicine taste. Compared to the Mango Tango, this is less sweet.

Blueberry Cake $1.00
I didn’t really taste this one cause this is my roomie’s order.

Old Dirty Bastard $1.95
This is basically chocolate frosting with Oreo cookies and peanut butter flavoured. I’m absolutely in love with this just because it has all my favourite flavours on it. LOL. But to be fair, it is a delicious one. Not sugary at all. Wish I could have a glass of milk to go with it.. LOL

Bacon Maple Bar $3.00
Honestly, I made an order on this just cause it is ridiculous to me that they put bacon on a doughnut. The staff said it tastes like breakfast, bacon with maple syurp waffles. I had a great laugh after hearing that, but no kidding…It did taste like what she said. Bacon with maple syurp waffles.. LOL.. It is pretty nice actually… haha… But then..I think it is too pricy.. $3.00 a doughnut.. For that price, I could had got something better..

They have these fancy pink boxes that says “good things come in pink boxes.” I just loveeee that phrase… I can’t agree more… HAHA! But then, I must honestly say it is a little over-rated for me. I get all the fun part that makes them so famous for their flavours.. But the doughnuts themselves are really not that good enough to make a line that ridiculous.. So far.. I still think that Krispy Kreme has the best softest doughnuts ever. And that their doughnuts won’t be as sweet as Voodoo’s.

If you ain’t like the pink box, here’s some halloween fun from Voodoo…

LOL..A coffin filled with Voodoo doughnuts for $105 (3 Dozen)…

Although I prefer Krispy Kreme over Voodoo, I still HIGHLY recommend you guys to go stop for Voodoo. I mean.. I will still go back in that line if I revisit Portland again. Just cause all those weird flavours they have..I want to try more!

Oh and hey.. FYI.. They have this Texas challenge doughnut which is SIX times of their normal doughnut sizes.. You get it for FREE if you finish it within 80 seconds.. FUN! Speaking of that.. Forgot to mention.. Their doughnuts are actually pretty huge…Definetly not normal size doughnuts you get in Safeway or Krispy Kreme.. So.. imagine about that Texas doughnut… hmmmm…

Next time.. I’ll probably want to try the Butterfingering.. It is a chocolate cake doughnut with butterfinger crumbles on top.. Another combination of my favourite flavours..

Voodoo Doughnut on Urbanspoon
Hours 24 hours, 7 days a week. (Closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years Day)
**CASH ONLY**
http://voodoodoughnut.com/

Nat

About nat.

foodie, traveler, pug mama, and part-time fashion beauty guru.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Voodoo Doughnut

  1. I really liked your blog! It helped me alot… Awesome. Exactly what I was looking for. Thanks!

    Like

    Posted by Martin J Potter | November 1, 2012, 11:57 am
  2. I liked it too. For 40 minutes I have been looking for the donut prices to make sure I show up with enough cash. . I wish I had looked here first. Ty for making a informative page

    Like

    Posted by Jennifer Vales | September 13, 2013, 11:03 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Jelly Modern Doughnuts | pug life confession - December 11, 2014

Leave a Reply

Follow #natblogs on WordPress.com
View my food journey on Zomato!

Enter your email address to follow nat and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

