//
you're reading...
Richmond

Chef Hung Beef Noodles (洪師傅牛肉麵)

As many of you have been wondering why has Mr. Gourmand never shown up in the recent entries, but now finally, here he is! I mean, here I am! I first wanna apologize for my late participation in this blog, I have been pretty busy with travelling back my home country (Hong Kong), visiting all my old mates, and of course searching for all the good food!

I think I will start off my first entry with the last place where Natalie and I went to have lunch right before I flew back to HK. Natalie might not have mentioned before that I really LOVE NOODLES, it can be anything from a pack of $2 instant noodle to a bowl of fancy ramen noodle soup! So this place is called the “Chef Hung Taiwanese Beef Noodle洪師傅牛肉麵” and is located in the Richmond Aberdeen Centre. I’m sure they have another branch somewhere in Vancouver but I have yet to visit that. This noodle place features the award-winning Taiwanese Beef Noodles which myself had been wanting to come since they opened in 2010 if I’m not mistaken.

Just the moment we sat down, we already got straight to the business, ORDERING FOOD! I apologize for not having a picture of the menu here but it can be browsed through their website at http://www.chefhungnoodle.com/eng/menu.html. They take orders by using order forms, so all you have to do is “choose-and-check”.  So as you viewers might know, asian delicacies oftentimes consist of animal internals (organs). I know it sounds weird or disgusting to most of youse, but I guess that’s just our food culture and we love it. 😀

The picture above shows the Marinated Pork Intestine. It’s an appetizer which you will see in most Taiwanese restaurants. Here I gotta say Taiwanese people know how to cook this dish right! Pork Intestine usually carries a non-favourable smell which not all people can take it. To make it more pleasing to serve, the cleaning and marinating processes take an important role. If you have never tried this dish, why don’t you give it a try? There’s a 50/50 chance of either you will really LOVE IT or simply HATE IT.

If you ain’t a fan of the pork intestine, this can just be a little bit better. It’s the marinated beef tripe, the cow’s stomach. It doesn’t have the strong flavor and the smell as the pork intestine and it essentially just tastes like tenderized beef.

This is the Chinese Spanach with Bean Curb that Natalie ordered. I personally don’t really like spanach but I think this just do the miracle! The bean curb and spanach makes an extradinary match here. Spinach always tastes best when served with something which has an intense flavor and in this case the Bean Curb does the job!

And here comes the Main course of the meal. Beef Brisket with noodle in clear soup. Before I start saying anything about this Noodle Soup, I would like to tell you viewers that Mr. Gourmand is a super particular person when it comes to meat. It always hard for me to find a place which serves good Beef brisket, it’s either they over braised it, losing all the distinctive flavour which the fat carries, or they under braised it, making the whole eating experience like chewing on rubber. Here however you can see that in the picture Chef Hung knows where the balance lies. The beef brisket is totally tenderized by the braising process but at the same time it STILL preserves the right amount of fat which is well-distributed on the beef. If I’m to rate the beef, I think this is absolutely a 9/10 no doubt. Soup wise, clear soup is always the best match when serving beef brisket. You just don’t anything aggressive that takes away the natual flavour from the beef.  The noodles however, I think here I just made a wrong pick. Thick noodles taste too floury to my taste. Flat noodles would be an awesome choice in my opinion.

A picture of the Thick Taiwanese Noodle (They call it the Homemade Taiwanese Noodle)

This is unquestionably a nice place to try if you are also in search of good Taiwanese beef noodles. If you ask me if it’s overpriced, I would say “Yes, a little, but what do you expect? It’s an award-winning restaurant.” 😀 (Noodle entrée is around $10-15, side dishes varies from $4-8)

I think that’s it for now, please stay tuned for our updates! Meanwhile, take care and keep your mouth dirty! 😀

Chef Hung Taiwanese Beef Noodle 洪師傅牛肉麵 on Urbanspoon


Hours: Mon-Thu, Sun 11 am – 9 pm. Fri-Sat 11 am – 9:30 pm

Sav

About nat.

foodie, traveler, pug mama, and part-time fashion beauty guru.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow #natblogs on WordPress.com
View my food journey on Zomato!

Enter your email address to follow nat and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 46 other followers

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

