//
you're reading...
nat's cookbook

Lemon Cupcakes w/ Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting

Hey there!

So exam is finally done! Sav flew back to Hong Kong a few days ago and I’d finally got the chance to hang around at home and take some rest. There’s always those one or two couple of things I will do when I get bored – watch Asian dramas, sleep, eat and cook! So I decided to make some of my favourite desserts…CUPCAKES!

I’d originally planned to make my favourite red velvet cream cheese cupcakes but I want to share my food with my roomies since Sav is gone and I don’t want to eat up the whole tray of fat and sugar lol. My roomie don’t like chocolate so I decided to make some fresh lemonish taste cupcakes since summer is still around the corner! (For those who don’t know..yea..red velvet is basically chocolate added red food colouring… lol)

Anyways, I pretty much a person that don’t just make up a recipe out of nowhere, neither that any of my ancestors gave me some kind of secret family recipes, so I usually just test recipes from my favourite cookbooks or online 🙂

One of the favourite youtube channels that I enjoy watching even just for random entertainment is “Laura in the Kitchen.” The cupcakes I made was a recipe from her!
If you’re interested in making some, you can check out the link below:

She also has a website, and it listed out clearly all the ingredients:
http://www.laurainthekitchen.com/all/episode.php?episodenumber=368

The cream cheese frosting tastes really nice with the lemon juice. (For those who don’t often bake, lemon juice usually help brings out the cheese flavour and smoothen it a lot. So if you’re doing baking that has recipes with cheese in it, do try to add a few drops of lemon juice in it! It will totally spice up your recpie!)

But I personally found that the frosting was a bit over sweeten, I bet Sav would not like it at all. He doesn’t have sweet tooth at all. But the cupcake was nice. I could had just ate the cupcakes without the frosting as snacks.

This is actually my first time baking cupcakes, I’d always wanted to challegne the decoration part. So I tried to make some rose bud pattern on my cupcakes. I’d even added a few drops of red food colouring just that it gives a nice pinkish colour to the frosting. But somehow, it could either it was too hot today or the frosting was not meant to be decorated in this way, it kinda melt down after a while I made the rose buds. Only one successfully stand and remain lol… So I end up scartching the bud down and just did a normal coating for the cupcakes.

I made my rose buds through the tutorial from “How to cook that” on Youtube. If you want to give it a try, you can check out their channel or website. They have a recipes on making buttercream for cupcakes as well!

I left the cupcakes in the fridge for about 1-2 hours and found that the frosting stayed really well on the cupcakes. Maybe next time, try put the frosting mixture in the fridge for a while and let it stay firm before doing the rose bud! That would probably come out more successful! 😀

Natalie

About nat.

foodie, traveler, pug mama, and part-time fashion beauty guru.

Discussion

One thought on “Lemon Cupcakes w/ Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Pretty frosting 🙂 and revelvet cupcake is vanilla and chocolate base, we can make tgt next time, I got there’d food coloring!!!

    Like

    Posted by Anne <3 | August 20, 2012, 4:55 am

Leave a Reply

Follow #natblogs on WordPress.com
View my food journey on Zomato!

Enter your email address to follow nat and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 45 other followers

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

